Logo
Faculty

Faculty

Bard’s political studies faculty teaches courses that cover the breadth of the discipline, with a focus on comparative politics, international relations, political theory, and American politics.  The faculty also has expertise in a variety of foreign geographic areas, including Latin America, Western Europe, South Asia, and the Middle East, and conducts research in a wide range of subjects, including political activism, terrorism and war, and democratic development.  Additional faculty resources are available at Bard's Global and Internatioal Affairs Program (BGIA), based in New York City, which allows Bard studens to pursue course work in international studies alongside intership opportunities at major international bodies and non-governmental organizations.  See below for individual profiles.

Sanjib Baruah, Program Director

Sanjib Baruah, Program Director
Professor of Political Studies
Office: Aspinwall 105
Phone: 845-758-7204
E-mail: baruah@bard.edu MORE

Jonathan Becker

Jonathan Becker
Vice President and Dean for International Affairs and Civic Engagement and Associate Professor of Political Studies
Office: Annandale 110
Phone: 845-758-7378
E-mail: jbecker@bard.edu MORE

Roger Berkowitz

Roger Berkowitz
Professor of Political Studies and Human Rights; Academic Director, Hannah Arendt Center for Politics and Humanities
Office: Seymour 102
Phone: 845-758-7413
E-mail: berkowit@bard.edu MORE

Kevin Duong

Kevin Duong
Assistant Professor of Political Studies
Office: Aspinwall 209
Phone: 845-752-4612
E-mail: kduong@bard.edu MORE

Omar G. Encarnación

Omar G. Encarnación
Professor of Political Studies
Sabbatical Fall 2018

Office: Aspinwall 211
Phone: 845-758-7230
E-mail: encarna@bard.edu MORE

Simon Gilhooley

Simon Gilhooley
Assistant Professor of Political Studies
Office: Aspinwall 310
Phone: 845-758-7556
E-mail: sgilhool@bard.edu MORE

Samantha Rose Hill

Samantha Rose Hill
Visiting Assistant Professor of Political Studies
Assistant Director, Hannah Arendt Center for Politics and Humanities
 

Office: Barringer House
Phone: 845-758-6822
E-mail: shill@bard.edu MORE

Fred Hof

Diplomat-in-Residence
Email: fhof@bard.edu

James Ketterer

James Ketterer
Dean of International Studies, Director of the Bard Globalization and Intetnational Affairs Program
Office: Barringer House
Phone: 845-752-4538
Email: jkettere@bard.edu MORE

David Kettler

David Kettler
Research Professor
Office: Fairbairn 306
Phone: 845-758-7294 (office); 845-876-5293 (home)
E-mail: kettler@bard.edu MORE

Christopher McIntosh

Christopher McIntosh
Visiting Assistant Professor of Political Studies
Phone: 845-758-6822
E-mail: cmcintos@bard.edu MORE

Walter Russell Mead

Walter Russell Mead
James Clarke Chace Professor of Foreign Affairs and Humanities
Office: Aspinwall, 204
Phone: 845-758-7212
E-mail: wmead@bard.edu MORE

Michelle Murray

Michelle Murray
Associate Professor of Political Studies
LOA Fall 2018

Office: Aspinwall 208
Phone: 845-752-7693
E-mail: mkmurray@bard.edu MORE

Cassandra Sweet

Cassandra Sweet
Visiting Assistant Professor of Political Studies
Office: Aspinwall 208
Email: csweet@bard.edu  MORE